The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

31368214Facts and Figures

Published: October 6th 2016, Electric Monkey

Standalone/Series: Book two in the ‘Dash and Lily’ series

Genre: Contemporary

Acquired: Kindly sent for review by the publisher

Goodreads // Amazon

What’s the story?

Glorious new collaboration from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

Dash and Lily have been dating for nearly a year, but when Lily’s beloved grandfather falls ill, the repercussions take their toll on everyone. Even though they are still together, somehow the magic has gone out of their relationship and it’s clear that Lily has fallen out of love with life.

Action must be taken! Dash teams up with Lily’s brother and a host of their friends, who have just twelve days to get Lily’s groove back in time for Christmas.

What did I think?

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares has become a festive favourite for an army of YA fans so I think we were all equally excited to see The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily hits the shelves so we could catch up with one of our favourite couples. Unfortunately, things aren’t quite as jolly for these two as we might have hoped! Lily’s feeling distinctly meh after a tough year so Dash decides to turn things around for her just in time for Christmas…and that’s all I’m going to say about the plot!

The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily is as fun, romantic and heart-warming as you’ll have hoped and I guarantee you won’t be able to finish this one without a ridiculous, soppy grin on your face. It’s always a delight to revisit beloved characters and I think Levithan and Cohn pitched this one perfectly; The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily stands up on its own but also serves as a wonderfully festive sequel to Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.

Who would I recommend it to?

Fans of Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, duh! And if you like the sound of this then definitely pick up a copy of book one and see what all the fuss is about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *